Proclaimation of Self

My name is Leah Nichole Dodendorf. I was born October 25th, 1985 and I am going to be 26 in a month.

I graduated last December with a BA in Chemistry and a GPA of 2.766.  I am embarrassed about my GPA. I wish I had done better, but  I had a hard time in school because of depression.  I was hospitalized in 2007 for a week and took a year off. I regret not graduating with my friends and losing contact with them as they moved on. I am proud of my self for finishing.

I started a six month contract job in April and its finishing at the beginning of October. They didn’t offer me a position, probably because I mentioned I was having trouble with the rapid rotation schedule and wouldn’t be staying. I wish they would have offered anyway.

I’m looking for a new job and have had some interviews. Waiting is hard. Offering myself up to be judged is harder.  I am disillusioned about my current employer Aerotek Scientific. I am just a source of income to him. I emailed him about looking for another position and he told me to call him, so I did.  He was no help and only asked if I knew someone to fill my current role. Even if I did I would not recommend this job. A month ago I would just say it was because of rapid rotation, but now I am starting to realize that the people here are unfriendly and somewhat immature. They probably used to be nice people until they got thrown to the schedule. While the lab switches every shift, the rest of the people rotate two weeks days and nights.

I’m on a diet and have lost 35 pounds since last august. I recently have not been eating well and gained three back. I have trouble making myself exercise. I sleep a lot.

I pick my scabs and pop my blisters. I have quite a few of them lately because of the moisture oven at work.

I feel somewhat creatively dead right now. Role play is lackluster, forget about prose. In game I feel dwarfed by big teams which makes me feel even more isolated. I’ve had a few sparks, but I think my job is draining me.

I meant to talk about me, not the things that are bothering me.

I am the oldest of three children. My brother, Andrew, is 23 and in the Navy. We get to see him when we go to Jacksonville.  My Sister is 21 and going to school for art. She just left the end of August for a semester abroad in Florence Italy. I’m a bit envious of her because I wanted to study abroad in college and then had my break down.

My parents are still together, I’m living with them right now. My dad is the CFO of a local bank, my mom has her Bachelors of Science in Nursing. She is currently the manager of an adult day care. She’s trying to get it back on its feet, but it might be too late. She’s looking for a new job too, so we commiserate.

I like the color blue, platypuses, butterflies, and unicorns.

My favorite book and movie is the Last Unicorn.

I adore getting flowers. So does Clover. (She’s my bunny)

I wish Clovie liked being petted more, but I love her just the same.

I enjoy listening to a variety of music. The Pandora station I listen to at work is threaded off of Evanescence, but also has Sarah Mclachlan, Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Within Temptation, Natalie Merchant, Goo Goo Dolls,  Dave Mathews band and others on it. I also like Vannessa Mae, classical music and new age like Enya. I dislike rap and country.

I played the violin in high school and have been planning on taking it out for months now.

I have a private relationship with god, but I really don’t go to church. Really the only thing I like about church is the singing. I really love singing though. I guess once I have a regular job I should start going to church just so I can sing. Might be good for my spirit.

I need to find something to do with my hands so I don’t eat. My mom knits, and I’ve tried it, but I really don’t like it. During the summer I used to spend a week at Grandma and Grandpa’s house and I’d embroider towels. I think I’d like to do that again. I just need to find some good patterns.  I do like crafty stuff, it’s been a while since I’ve made dream catchers or pony bead animals or necklaces. I go through phases.

I think spring is my favorite season, though I always have allergy problems then.  I like thunderstorms though, its good weather for reading.

I like reading, though I do less of it now then I used to. Recently I read Ghost Story by Jim Butcher, Persuader by Lee Child, and right now I’m working on A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin.  After I finish that, I have the latest Eve Duncan book to read, and then the latest Agent Pendergast book.I listen to audio books on the 15 minute drive to work and right now I’m listening to Polgara the Sorceress.

Leave a Reply

